My kids’ clothes………….!!

Are you swimming in hand me downs? I am, and am forever grateful for this. I have never had to buy snow pants for my kids because my sister in law continues to pass them along. While this is so worth it, it can be difficult to carve out the extra space, and stressful to figure out how and where to keep the extra stuff. When my kids were younger I received a lot from friends and family. My daughter had a closet FULL of summer dresses, leggings in every color, dozens of pjs….. you get the picture. It never occurred to me that I didn’t have to keep it just because it FIT her. That was until one day when I realized that the ‘you only wear 20% of your closet’ rule  actually applied to her. It applied to ALL my kids. And yet, every time I put their laundry away I had to wrestle with the clothes that were already taking up space in order to put the clothes that they DID wear in their dressers. It’s amazing how we tolerate (sometimes, unnecessarily so) the way things are rather than dig in and identify better solutions. Oftentimes this is because we are busy and don’t have the time to tackle these tasks right away, so we HAVE to deal with the status quo for awhile. After my awakening (probably because I had finally slept through the night ; ), I went through their clothes and tried to be really honest about what they would and would not wear. My daughter had the best collection of skinny jeans that she never wanted to wear. They were seriously cute, but just not comfortable (I kinda get it). In fact, I’m pretty sure we ended up with them because my friends’ daughter wanted nothing to do with them either! Alas, I bagged them up and donated them. It felt amazing. In the end we only kept the clothes that she would actually wear. I don’t have to tell you that this also eliminated a lot of unnecessary arguing about getting dressed in the morning. Game. Changer. Sometimes these solutions are so simple it’s maddening! “Why didn’t I think of this earlier!?” Well… I just didn’t. That’s the way it goes. I’m sure I’m still surrounded by simple fixes that would make my life easier and they just haven’t revealed themselves yet. My hope is that by surrounding myself with less, it ALL becomes more manageable. I think I can… I think I can… I…….

Leave a Reply

